Wondershare Filmora9
The Best Video Editing Software for YouTubers
  • Advanced Color Tuning tools to help you make creative videos.
  • Large collection of great Title & Text overlays.
  • 300+ stunning effects designed for beauty, gamer, traveler, etc.

Free YouTube Money Calculator

Aug 10,2019• Proven solutions

Most YouTubers get started simply because they love to make videos, to be the center of attention and to have such a creative outlet for their ideas. However, for almost all YouTubers, their mind will soon turn to whether they can make money from YouTube, and how much they could be making.

If you're curious about how much money you could make from your channel, or just want to see what the potential is for creating a revenue stream once you've built your audience, we've got just the thing for you. We've developed this YouTube Money Calculator, a simple tool that lets you see at a glance how much you could be earning from your videos and channel.

You May Also Like:YouTube SEO Complete Guide >>

Let's take a look at the YouTube Money Calculator now and explore your potential for generating income from your passion for YouTube.

YouTube Money Calculator

Our YouTube Money Calculator works by taking figures from typical daily earnings and translating them into potential earnings based on your estimated CPM. "What's a CPM?", we hear you cry. CPM stands for Cost Per Mille, with mille being Latin for thousand, so it's simply just the cost advertisers will pay per thousand views on your video.

If you don't know your CPM yet, don't worry because our tool can give you an estimated revenue calculation based on a commonly accepted range of CPM figures for your views. Using this number, the YouTube Money Calculator can give you potential revenue by video as well as by channel on a daily, monthly and yearly basis. Let's take a look:

  • 1. Estimated YouTube Revenue by videos
  • 2. Estimated YouTube Revenue by Channel
  • 1. Estimated YouTube Revenue by videos

    To use YouTube Money Calculator to get an estimated calculation of your revenue for a single video, simply set the number of views you get per day (or hope to get) and the CPM rates. If you don't know your CPM, the tool will automatically select a typical range based on the number of views.

    From here you can start to play around and see what the impact could be of a different number of views and different CPM range. Do keep in mind that these figures are estimated, and there are many factors that come into play to determine your final CPM rate.

    If you want to go deeper into your research and discover how much revenue a specific video could make, you can simply paste in the URL of the video you want to investigate, and the YouTube Money Calculator will show you the results. These will be presented as the number of total video views as well as the estimated earnings for that video based on typical CPM rates, making it a great resource to establish whether to monetize a video or not.

    2. Estimated YouTube Revenue by Channel

    If you'd like a more complete view of your YouTube earnings potential, why not investigate the revenue possibilities for the whole channel? Simply paste your channel link into the box and our tool will estimate how much you could be earning if you monetize that channel.

    As well as showing this, the tool will show all sorts of other useful information such as number of total views, number of subscribers, number of uploaded videos and even your country and category. It's a great place to start to evaluate your efforts and to get a realistic idea of what your earnings could be.

    How is YouTube Partner Money Calculated?

    YouTube partner money is calculated using something called the CPM. Your CPM, if you're new to YouTube and partner advertising, is likely to be quite low, but can be built up over time.

    CPM is actually a term for advertisers rather than content creators, as it denotes the amount an advertiser pays to serve its ad to 1,000 views of a video. What you really want to know is your RPM, or revenue per thousand, which is about how much you'll get paid for 1,000 views of that ad. In YouTube world, they call this number eCPM which stands for effective CPM, and if you have access to YouTube analytics, you'll be able to find it under the estimated monetized playbacks metric.

    If you don't have YouTube Analytics, you can estimate your eCPM by dividing your most recent earnings by the number of monetized views and then multiplying by 1,000. For example, if you got 10,000 views of a video and earned $30, then your CPM would be $3.

    There are a number of factors which affect what your CPM is, including what category it's in, what the season is (e.g. Christmas, Halloween), what language you speak, which country you're from, how much competition there is and much more. As an average, most advertisers are paying in the region of $7.60 per 1,000 impressions, although this can be as high as $15 or as low as $0.10.

    But that's not the whole story.

    Of course, YouTube needs to make money too, so don't expect to see all of that $7.60 popped into your AdSense account. Google keep 45 per cent of all YouTube advertising revenue, so you'll get the other 55 per cent. If you were earning that average $7.60, your actual earnings would be $4.18 per 1,000 views.

    As your subscriber numbers rise and your daily views rise, so will your CPM, so don't get disheartened if you've discovered you're on $2 or worse. Keep plugging away and building your fan base, and you'll get there in the end.

    It's important to realize that, for most new channels, they'll need to post videos for around two years before they start earning anything significant. If you're just getting started on YouTube, find your niche and make sure it's one which advertisers care about. Get it right, and you'll have a highly targeted audience base which advertisers are willing to pay good money to use.

    How to Join YouTube Partner Platform

    If you've had a go with the YouTube money calculator and are excited about the potential to make money from YouTube, the next thing you'll need to do is to sign up for the partner program. Here's how:

    • Find out if you qualify: You'll need to be 18 or over, and to have had at least 4,000 views on your channel and 1,000 subscribers in the past 12 months
    • Enable monetization on your account: Sign in, select 'creator studio', then go to Channel > Status features. Look for the tab for Monetization and click to enable.
    • Agree to the terms: Once you've read and agreed to them, click accept
    • Choose monetizing options: Pick from overlay in video, TrueView in stream ads or video contains a product placement. You can always change this later.
    • Confirm enrolment: Click 'monetize my videos' to confirm enrolment

    Once you've done all that, YouTube will review your application and decide if you can join the program. Usually this happens within a matter of seconds, generating confirmation via email. Your account will now have 'Partner Verified' on it, and your chosen ads will start being displayed immediately.

    Making money on YouTube

    We've all been seduced by the big hitters on YouTube, from PewDiePie to Lilly Singh, and have imagined that we'll be the next YouTube millionaire. However, the reality is that 99 per cent of those on YouTube are earning peanuts for the effort they put into their channels from these advertising streams.

    However, there are other ways to make money on YouTube. It makes sense not to put all your eggs in one basket, so alongside ads and growing your fanbase, we've come up with a number of other ways to monetize your YouTube channel and estimate how much your video can make.

Liza Brown
Liza Brown is a writer and a lover of all things video.
Other Recommend Products
Filmora9

Easy-to-use and powerful video editor for all creators.

Try It Free Try It Free
FilmoraPro

Bring up your video to a professional level with straightforward tools.

Try It Free Try It Free
You May Also Like